Fear….. Friend or Foe????

 

Hey guys, so i’m officially around 12 weeks to my big international move to Honduras and for the first time i can say i was thrown back into my chair by fear and began to rethink my dream….

For those who don’t know or are new to my blog i spent the past year in living in Mexico in what was described as one of the most dangerous towns in the world, Torreón, Coahuila. Now before that trip i had a slight relapse on my dreams as i was moving alone to a non touristic part of Mexico for 11 months to teach adults English but to my surprise i ended up having another amazing experience abroad (i have also lived/studied in Havana, Cuba) of my quarter century life.

The state over-run with cartel intimidation. my year was full of ups and downs which included the occasional gunshot lullaby and our ‘spot they army truck’ game which was never below the count of 5 on some days. Overall my time in Mexico was simply wonderful as even though you could not deny the negatives i got to see the beauty of the country in it’s natural state (well… apart from PLAYA DEL CARMEN!! A.K.A CANCUN’S YOUNGER SISTER!!)

This chain of thoughts brings me to my present issue, HONDURAS…

Studying the history and cultural integration of Central America in University has made me so intrigued by this part of the world as they are so culturally rich yet through corruption, loss of power and extreme poverty these countries are now battling a negative image that the media has glued to them.

I must say that i take precautions and warnings very seriously however i believe everyone deserves a chance and God has put me here to inspire those chances in challenged places.

As you may know from the media reports the Honduras has a deadly gang problem and with the city of San Pedro Sula named the Most Dangerous City of 2011, the tourism has been sporadic to say the least. The deportation of gang members from the USA to Central America created some of the most dangerous cartels/gangs in world history and they are still devastating society to the present day.

One of my main problems is the stigma of having tattoos which has been said to be enough to be a victim in various cases as rival gangs identify their enemies by markings but sometimes regular citizens get mixed up too. I’m not going to live in the capital but it kind of worries my human nature as i have 9 tattoos and am a very outgoing person so i know already that i will have to change my persona to not stand out over there. I’m sure people have tattoos but with such violent associations it is not common. I have spoken to my co-workers and Hondurans and they do not have any issues out there however i will be doing some more research of my own to ease my spirit.

As always the media tend to focus on the negative points but as with everything Honduras does have a beautiful side and without the violence has a lot to offer holidaymakers. Check out this video below:

I have been offered a very good opportunity to teach in Honduras and even though at times i do freeze with fear i am praying 24/7 for God to protect me and give me the strength to follow my dreams and help contribute to the reconstruction on Honduras.

Any thoughts or advice would be very welcome!!!

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Fear….. Friend or Foe????

  1. Wow! Good luck, I’m interested to read what your experiences will be and curious to know where it is that you’ll be living. And I wouldn’t worry too much about the tattoos. Ever since the Mano Dura crackdowns from the early 2000’s gang-members don’t tend to get tattoos all over their arms and faces anymore. If you end up in Guatemala at some point, let me know!

    1. Hey i’m going to an area called Olancho, from what i can find it looks like a generally normal area so i’m hoping it remains that way! Although news stories never fail to arise… Hopefully in my vacations i will get to do some travelling through Central America as i would like to investigate more into the Afro-Latino identity within those countries, Guatemala is definitely on my list so we will keep in touch!

  2. Do not believe what media says. Just do not walk alone at the nights on dark streets and try to not carry any expensive gadget with you or show it and you are gonna be fine. Good luck on Honduras (it’s a beautiful but hot land).

Leave a Reply

