Graduation babaaaaaaay!!

graduate babay

 

So i have been having an emotional few weeks accepting that my life might be on a new path but i’m trusting in God to take me where i need to be cz he made my heart and knows what it wants…..

Today was actually the first day of many that i can say i was filled with pride as a result of my hard work and determination. I was one of the stereotypical students during my time at University, even though i decided to stay home, i live in London PARTY CENTRAL!!! So i was always hitting a student night (50p vodka shots and foam parties!!) and rolling into class whenever i got to many ‘absent’ emails in my inbox. I did like education but as with many students, i was not taught how to write or read effectively.

In our young days we are taught pronunciation and confidence in speech what we need to do but it seems that at University you actually had to REEEEEAD the words and take them in……. lol…… I know, sounds crazy but you would be surprised how many people struggle with this concept.

In my 3rd year i was lucky enough to spend my year abroad in the magical city of Havana, Cuba where i learnt the importance of living life to the full no matter your circumstances and dancing the night away. I did go to class out there as i wanted to improve my Spanish in immersion classes however i learnt my most valuable ‘Cubanol’ in the late evening on the Malecon with my beloved ‘Havana Club 3 anos’ Rum with refresco Limon looking at the clear bright stars singing along to the passing boomboxes or live band. (Learnt a lotta good swear words too lmao!)

It was not until my return from Cuba and the realization it was my final year that i pulled my big girl pants right up and started studying . After choosing my modules i was blessed with amazing tutors that helped me through my struggles and guided me into the place i am in today. (Latin American, Caribbean, Brazillian Portguese departments at London Metropolitan University, I THANK YOU!!) It was hard and i missed a lot of good parties but it was only on this day i realised the worth of what i had done.

I was living in Mexico this time last year so i missed my initial graduation ceremony but today i got my time to shine.

In places where women are killed for wanting to study i have managed to become another positive statistic and make my family, friends and peers super proud. I don’t know if i will continue with mainstream education but i will definitely keep on learning.

I dedicate this blog to my family, friends and the memories of some very special people in my life:

Mr A Burke a.k.a Dad

Mr H Bailey a.k.a Grandad

Mrs Merici Galvez a.k.a My Cuban Mother

Their spirits will always be part of my successes and i know you were all shining down on my today as i walked that red carpet, showing off my education.

Never give up on yourself cz we are all we have under the spotlight.

From yours truly and now……….

Miss A Bailey with a B.A. Honors in Caribbean and Spanish and Latin American Studies with a Certificate of Proficiency in Brazilian Portuguese!!!!!!!!

xoxo

One thought on “Graduation babaaaaaaay!!

Leave a Reply

