What are WE waiting for???

banksy change 2

What are WE waiting for???

In a world where are have been brainwashed into instant gratification, WHAT ARE WE STILL WAITING FOR TO MAKE A CHANGE THAT LASTS????

Growing up in London, as a young woman (I’m not bringing race into this) I was exposed to a lot of things that I didn’t know how to interpret yet didn’t have the time to make an educated decision because I was already present.

You can’t revise life like you do for an exam, more than likely you are going to be thrown into life situations that no-one can prepare you for at a times when you are most vulnerable.

Teenage years are one of the most compelling times in anyone’s life yet completing this era is becoming as endangered as rhinos in the wild.

We are told to grow up yet we are expected to know what to without being taught. Most people make an educated decision based on another person’s experience before finding unbiased information which has resulted in a us SURVIVING in a world gravitating to TAKE TAKE TAKE.

I am a woman so I will never understand the plights of boys or young men growing up but I will say that at some point in time we have to come together and create families which is scary because the values we have are all experience based without knowledge.

I’m sick of being scared for the sun to shine because there is a chance that young people will die due to street violence.

I love the sun so much yet the problems it causes breaks my heart.

I’m sick of being told not to have parties because the fear of the unknown visitor outweighs my want for happiness.

Not because I’m naive but because I don’t want to see any more bloodshed with my naked eye.

I’m sick of the media and statistics blaming young people for their failures as a social power.

How do you expect us to be inspired if our futures are plagued with debts? The amount of dirty money pumping through the system is disgusting. With rising property prices and over population, it’s sad to say the streets are holding too much value and people are dying for every single paving stone.

I was blessed enough to hear a short presentation by 2 young men using their lives to try and create a better future, they were not there to sugar coat life yet they were not being overly clouded.

They touched on the turbulent fight to have places where they could help elevate young people in basic life skills and the fact the our older generations have let us down by allowing problems to worsen by turning a blind eye. I was personally compelled to what they had to say, not because i had been through the same but I respect the reality that they put forward.

They weren’t trying to gain fans or rounds of applause, they fact they were still alive was applause enough to them.

We are told to respect our elders but respect is mutual and I was shocked to see the attitudes of some grown ups, if roles were reversed I know the discipline would have rolled right out. Sad because are they people who are supposed to set us an example…..

I managed to speak to both men afterwards and congratulate them on their successes, they are so humble and down to earth. I’m positive there plenty of other mentors and examples out there, who want a better present and past and with people like them trying to make a difference however small the change, it WILL come…..

SO

WHAT ARE WE WAITING FOR????????????

Personal Thank you to Bilal and Robyn, Keep up the good work dudes. Inspiration to say the least.

Leave a Reply

