Pep talk with my Fro….

carlos-valderrama

 

So i thought as i’m about to embark on another big adventure i better prepare my best friend and soul mate….. MY AFRO!!

Here’s how it played out:

ME: *spritz with water and rub in some almond oil and shea butter* So fro are you ready for this??

FRO: Well…… tbh i don’t know what to expect, the last few years I have spent so much time in the sun I don’t know how to prepare!

ME: It’s going to be amazing! We are going back to Latin America to teach english again, remmeber how much fun we had last time…

FRO: Are they going to judge me??

Me: Why would you say that?

FRO: In Cuba it was ok because i was a hot mess trying to grow out the perm but i felt comfortable because there were so many others like us. In Mexico, i LOVED the attention but sometimes i think people loved you because of me…. I don’t want that this time.

ME: I mean, yeh we have been through a lot but where we are going is practically a mixture of the places we have been to. Colombia has a vibrant culturally diverse mix of people so we will be just fine.

FRO: Do they have Sally’s? Will Pak’s send us braid hair like in Mexico?

ME: You know I won’t let anything happen to you, i love you and don’t forget that. The first week i’m there i will make sure you will be ok, even if we do have to get onto Pak’s and express our stuff over.

FRO: Is there going to be sand?

ME: We are moving to Barranquilla, it’s not on the beach itself but i predict we will be spending a LOT of time at the beach if I can help it!

FRO: TRY not to get sand in us all the time though, when we went to Playa Del Carmen i loved being in twists with you as we didn’t get the main impact :D

Me in Playa

(Me in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico 2012)

 

ME: *covers eyes* OK OK, I know i can gt lazy once i find a style but i promise i will spend more time with you and make sure you’re having as much fun as me!

FRO: Do i have to ask if people are going  to squeeze, stroke or pat me……

ME: Ah fro…. If anyone touches you without my permission, they will have me to answer to, NO EXCEPTIONS!!

FRO: OK…… I guess it doesn’t sound all that bad, will get to experience some new air, have natural steams, go into the ocean, meet new hair folicles and bask in some lovely breeze. Maybe I could get one of the cool thread braids….. Would look nice! :D

ME: *brushing up the side and admiring my curl pattern* Maybe fro, Maybe……….

WE WILL BE JUST FINE FRO……. WE ALWAYS ARE!!!

P.S. If all else fails, we always have Valderrama to look up to! ❤

Frotastic July 2014

 

 

 

 

Pep talk with my Fro…. was originally published on The Many Words Of Aic3la

Leave a Reply

