Aic3la, La Perdida……. Aic3la, The Lost Girl…….

ROAD TRIP NUMBER 2 YAAAAAAAAA!!!

This time to celebrate one of the numerous bank holidays (Gracias ‘Assumption Of Mary!!’) in Colombia I decided to join some friends on an impromtu trip to the coastal region on Santa Marta. After booking my tickets and accommodation online (I had cashpoint issues), I started what was going to be a tedious start to my vacation.

DRAMA #1

I arrived at the bus station at 9.35am ready to board my bus at 10am, only to be told MY BUS HAD ALREADY LEFT THE STATION. Apparently because the bus was coming from Medellin, if not passengers are present when they are close to Barranquilla, they are allowed to continue on with the journey…… all togther now…… BULLSHITTTTTTTT!!!

After brief discussion I was told I could board the next bus which would be in 2 hours…… So there I sat in an airconditioned waiting room, where I proceed to be bit to shit by mosquito´s. (Found out later on)

So I got onto the bus which was very spacious and comfortable, not packed either and it was a smooth journey which took just under 2 hours.

DRAMA #2

Got to Santa Marta bus station and managed to share a taxi with a guy who was headed to the same hostel. Pulling up outside it, The Dreamer hostel looked very nice, had loads of character and a present social scene. All the things a good hostel needs.

Once we were checked in and our rooms paid for, one of the reception workers gave us a quick outline of the area and things to do and see. After pointing our local party town Taganga and the famous UNESCO Parque Tayrona, he mentioned their sister hostel ´The Dreamer Palomino´………. LIGHTBULB MOMENT!!!

Silly me, didn´t realise there were 2 OF THEM!!! Following a quick panic pep talk with myself, I spoke to the manager and managed to get my booking moved over to the other Dreamer Hostel, No Problemo!! THANX AGAIN GUYS!!!

The bus to the hostel was an experience in itself, it was so full I had to sit on the stairs!! Here´s a snapshot of my view for 2hours….

CAM00041

THIS IS WHEN MY HOLIDAY TRULY BEGAN!!!

It was the perfect setting to wash away the MADNESS i just went through. The dreamer hostel is located right on the beach so it was just what I needed to enjoy the weekend. After meeting up with friend we enjoyed an amazing meal at the hostel next door (Shout out to Paula!) and spent Sunday fully indulged in beach life. I LOVED IT!!!! Rocked the heck outta my tankini and just generally enjoyed the blessing i was in.

The waves were to rough for me to play with but I must say overall Palomino beach is just the place to enjoy a couple bottles of rum with good food and great company.

Here are some snaps for ya!

Aic3la, La Perdida……. Aic3la, The Lost Girl……. was originally published on The Many Words Of Aic3la

One thought on “Aic3la, La Perdida……. Aic3la, The Lost Girl…….

  1. So glad I found your blogs!! I’m leaving for Barranquilla on Dec 30 to teach English also. Nice to see another natural expat living it up! =)

Leave a Reply

